top of page

Timeline Project

For this project, the class had to create individual timelines of significant events that drastically shaped and molded us throughout the course of our lives, with the timeline itself visually representing who we are. So for my timeline, I considered the part of my heritage that originated from my father being a Barbados native, with him being born and spending his childhood there. I then used this aspect of myself as a basis visually, alongside the element of me being a longtime fanatic of beasts and monsters, as I used that heavily as subject matter for my drawing habits growing up. I then started researching such things like skeletons of dinosaurs and sharks, and how I could incorporate that into my drawing.

Here are some of the skeletal photos that I used for Inspiration.

Based on those pictures, I devised some concept sketches:

From these sketches, I decided to develop a skeletal leviathan type monster, with its aquatic nature being based on my affinity for water (as it's my favorite element), and my status as a Barbadian-American citizen, as well as my origin of being born in a coastal town. I also wanted to incorporate a zigzagged, tribal aesthetic to my drawing, as well as inspiration from a piece of artwork originating from Barbados.

Here is the tribal pattern I used as a base aesthetic:

And here is the piece of Barbados-original art I used as another aesthetic inspirational source:

Using these two works as well as all my aforementioned inspiration, I then proceeded to open photoshop and start the leviathan skeleton drawing, using parts of the the skeleton to represent the progressing timeline. I also used this generated color scheme as a guide for the final coloration of the work:

And here is the final result:


bottom of page